acronyms like NUD

Elessar

Reaction score
Being a noob here I've been seeing some terminology that I don't understand and have been spending most of my time in the beginners playground trying to learn things I need to know.

However, I have seen the term NUD repeatedly but have been unable to determine a meaning; anybody?

NUD= "New uke day". When you get another one for your collection.

Speaking of terminology: You're a newbie, not a "noob". Noob is a derogatory term, referring to individuals who are either annoyingly obnoxious or some sort of dumb idiot. "Newbie" or "Newb" refer to someone who is new at something, a rookie.

Yes, pet peeve of mine. :)

Speaking of terminology: You're a newbie, not a "noob". Noob is a derogatory term, referring to individuals who are either annoyingly obnoxious or some sort of dumb idiot. "Newbie" or "Newb" refer to someone who is new at something, a rookie.

Well, most of what I don't know could be construed as annoying and many Newb questions can be glaringly obvious to those who've been around a while. I've gone through multiple forums as the new guy and have observed the evolution. Glad to be here and find such a great resource. Thanx again.

You may also run across the acronym "UAS," which means Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome. You will almost certainly contract this syndrome.

You may also run across the acronym "UAS," which means Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome. You will almost certainly contract this syndrome.

Often people cycle between the two: UAS - NUD - UAS - NUD - UAS - NUD etc.

Last edited:
Working on this one already...shop, shop, shop.
Fight it. I wish I had fought UAS more. While new ukuleles are fun, it can take away time from actual playing. Personally, I started building ukes which took so much time that I havnt played since this summer, at least not more than a song here or there. I will try to find a better balance next year :).

But hey, ukes are fun :D!