In the Market for a Baritone Ukulele - A Few Questions

_Silly_Me_Sitting_Here_

Reaction score
Aloha!

I'm a bit of a newbie here (first post, but I've been lurking through the forum for a few days now). I'm hoping for a bit of input regarding a baritone ukulele that I'm hoping to buy from Hawaii Music Supply. (I'll be buying this uke long distance - with no hands on - as I no longer live in Hawaii. *sad face*)

Currently, I own a Kala KA-TE (tenor uke), but I'm completely enamored by the rich tones of the baritone - so I'm ready to make the jump! I've been eyeing some gorgeous Ponos at HMS, but I'm afraid the necks might be too "beefy" for my smaller female hands. (Any folks with small-ish hands willing to chime in on this?) I really had my heart set on a Pono & I was ready to drop a pretty penny on a nice pro-classic model w/ a LR Baggs pickup installed. But, after some forum lurking & even an email from a HMS rep, I'm wondering if the Pono will be way too uncomfortable for me to play. *another sad face*

So, now I'm looking at "cheaper" Kala's w/ thinner necks - as the baritones offered by HMS top out around 400 bucks. I'd love to hear that with a nice, low-action set up I'll get just as easy playability from my Kala as I would have with the fancy (radius fretboard) Pono I had my heart set on. But, would the LR Baggs pickup be a waste on this "cheaper" ukulele? I had no problem putting it in the Pono.... But, the Kala?

Lastly... I'd love a recommendation for a great set of strings that might offer easy playability for the baritone. Something coated or smooth perhaps (like Elixers for guitars)? I don't know a lot about strings, but I know that my tenor (all nylon) strings don't hurt my fingers at all. But, those wound strings on the baritone are my nemesis.

Thanks a TON for all the great insights! I'm thoroughly enjoying my "tour" through these forums & I look forward to learning more from you guys.

Mahalo,
Olivia :)