PDA

View Full Version : Wha are your thoughts please?

Kahua
01-07-2017, 05:25 AM
Hello, I am new to playing the ukulele, and at present playing a soprano model by Kahua that I purchased a few days ago. I would like to eventually upgrade to a concert model.

I have a gift certificate from Adorama, which is primarily a camera store, but they do sell ukuleles. I was looking at a few models by Ibanez. One in particular is the Ibanez UEW15E Concert Ukulele Acoustic-Electric. Are they a good ukulele? I know their guitars are very good, and I would assume that their line of ukuleles are as well.

What are you thoughts please.

Thank you for your help

PhilUSAFRet
01-07-2017, 06:14 AM
Firstly, a move from a soprano to a concert would not generally be considered an "upgrade" per se. Upgrading to better/solid wood, better finish/features, custom made, etc. etc. would be. There is not a lot on these ukes, but many owners of them are happy with them while others feel their design, fit, finish may not be up to the standard of some better models. I appreciate them for that they are and if I found the right deal on the maple concert cutaway with a pickup, I might grab it. Here are some videos. In general, they compare favorably to Ibanez's budget line of guitars unless they started making solid wood models. May or may not need a "setup", but if you are the least bit handy/crafty, much setup work may be within your skill set and there are many, many tutorials online. Good luck.

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=ibanez+uew15e+concert+ukulele+acoustic-electric&qpvt=Ibanez+UEW15E+Concert+Ukulele+Acoustic-Electric&FORM=VDRE

Mivo
01-07-2017, 06:57 AM