Improving action on a Lanikai LU22CGC Concert Ukulele

Kahua

Reaction score
I picked up a Lanikai LU22CC Concert Ukulele yesterday from Guitar Center. I'm new to ukuleles and started with a soprano model but found it just a bit small for my hands, so I decided to go with the concert Lanikai model. I like the ukulele very much but I feel the strings are a bit high as you go down the fretboard. One of the luthiers at GC mentioned that they can lower the strings at the bridge to improve the action, but from past experience with guitars, if a luthier doesn't quite get it right one can have a bit of string buzz from the first few frets.

Like I mentioned, I'm new to ukuleles and would like some advice please. Is this something that should be attempted? On guitars the neck is at a slight angle from the body, whereas this ukulele, the neck runs parallel from the body. I hope I have explained that right. So I'm wondering if lowering the bridge might create a problem.

Thank you guys.

Lowering the bridge won't cause problems unless you take it too far. The first thing to do is check string height at the 12th fret. Measure from the top of the fret to the bottom of the strings.

Hi Dan. Is the a specific measurement I shouldn't go below?

There's a recent thread here: http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?125068-Hello-and-a-question which has lots of conversation and tips on this very topic, as well as some linked videos to demonstrate how to remedy this kind of problem.

You would do yourself a great service to read that thread, read the linked threads and watch the videos, and then come back with questions before proceeding.

I point you to that other thread not to be rude nor lazy, but to avoid repeating similar information in multiple posts across the forum, I hope you understand.

Please invest the time to check it out and learn about these issues. We will all be here waiting when you are ready for more help. :)