E string seems more dominant than others

hoeshack

Reaction score
When I play a chord and the e string is open it seems to be louder than all the others. I'm not sure if this is normal as I'm a total beginner but sometimes it seems overpowering. Maybe it's just me but I thought I'd ask. Its a concert ukulele I have and I've made sure it's in tune. I've only had it a couple days so maybe the strings are still bedding in? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. C and E string swapped around? This has happened to me - the fat C string sitting higher in the smaller E string slot tuning was constantly going out as well. Enormous tension required to get the wrong string to E !
2 . E String high? Lay the edge of a rule lightly across the strings and see if you can pivot the rule on any string at the 3rd and 10th frets.
You might find any string a little higher by sight along the rule- thats ok, but not if you can rock it back and forth using the string as a pivot. Either the bridge or nut might need a little attention. (Guarantee - return to vendor / Take it to a luthier / shop repair man. Or, you can or fettle it your self if your confident.)

Yeah that's rare. Usually it's the C (or low G on ukes so equipped) that folks complain about "booming". What's the uke and what are the strings on it?

It's a concert moselele. The strings are as they came. It says on the site that they are aquila strings. It was strung when it arrived so I have to accept their word on that one. Pretty sure it's strung correctly. The chords sounds fine, it's just the E that sounds quite prominent. But I could be over thinking it. I have a habit of that.