Sore Fingers...

Fuzzbass

Reaction score
After playing bass for twenty plus years, since acquiring my new soprano uke yesterday, I have a new set of calluses on my sore little fingers :)

For the first week or two, limit practice sessions to several short ones. Also, a big beginner's mistake with ukes is to press on the strings too hard. They don't look like they can hurt that much.

After playing bass for twenty plus years, since acquiring my new soprano uke yesterday, I have a new set of calluses on my sore little fingers :)

Yay! No pain no gain! :shaka:

You'lll be proud of them little callouses soon enough. How are you finding the Noah Monkeypod?

I started playing uke about 4 years ago after playing steel string guitar for almost fifty years, didn't bother at all. Then I started playing bass uke a couple of years ago, mostly the fat poly strings and when I started playing uke again a few weeks ago, yes, the callous pain was there, especially after I got a new uke with too high action, which is being fixed right now.

It's great. Lovely dark grain, sounds good too. You can see its handmade too. There's a couple of tiny toolmarks om the headstock and binding, but I like that, proves it not a mass produced factory clone, made by a real person. Matthew from Noah Ukes is a really nice guy too. I see there's 20% off all his Ukes for January with the code from his Facebook page :)

Calluses

I've had this second set of calluses since getting my first uke. I was enjoying playing my latest addition a little too much and played for hours. Calusses on calluses on calluses :)

Like the song says, "Work your fingers to the bone, whadda ya get? Bony fingers."

Oh--we get music, too!