Chords with thumb.

Ukerz

Reaction score
I am a newbie, I am left handed so I play left handed, and I'm wondering if it's OK if I play chords with the thumb or if it's bad practice that will ruin me. I'm using a Tenor, but stacking fingers feels tight.

For example, it is virtually impossible for me to stack my fingers for a D-MAJOR, fingers are just too thick for it, I can barely do it, it's slow, and I often don't get all the strings held down right. So I find it's actually easier to just use my thumb over all 3 strings. There's actually a few chords where I can better use a single finger to manipulate multiple strings. I know that for a few chords this is bad practice, for example, pressing C-MAJOR with ring finger is the easiest because it allows you to more easily transition to other chords like like G-MAJOR. For me, any 2-3 strings in a row along the edges, are just better held with a finger on the bottom end, or a thumb at the top end. For another example, I don't mind playing the A-MINOR with a ring finger or thumb. And if a song has an A-MINOR that transitions to/from a D-MAJOR, it's actually pretty simple to transition, since all I have to do is go from pressing 1 string to 2 more strings in a row along side it and vice versa.

I am self teaching, so I'm just wondering if this practice would cause any issues that will force me to retrain myself down the line as I learn more.

Last edited:
For a D, my local uke shop owner suggested using the middle finger to barr the three strings, if your first joint will bend backwards to arch over the A string. Then for a D7 use the ring finger to catch the C (3rd fret) on the A string. It takes a little practice, but is easy, if you fingers will bend that way.

There's a recent thread on the subject here:
http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?125206-Left-hand-thumb