"The Gibson" old Ukulele. Help?

krip1121

Reaction score
Hi, My wife ran across this old Ukulele and I am curious to know more about it. Can anyone give me some more information on what model this might be? All she has been told is that it is from the 30's. Any help is appriciated! s-l1603.jpgs-l1602.jpgs-l1601.jpgs-l1600.jpg

Last edited:
I'm no expert, but because it has The Gibson on the headstock, it was likely made between 1926 (start of production) and 1928. From 1929, they simply said Gibson. Based on the fancy fretboard markers, it is a Style 3. That is the extent of my Gibson knowledge!

Hi, My wife ran across this old Ukulele and I am curious to know more about it. Can anyone give me some more information on what model this might be? All she has been told is that it is from the 30's. Any help is appriciated! View attachment 97483View attachment 97484View attachment 97485View attachment 97486

It's a Gibson Style 3 and Eddie is most likely right about the timeframe (late 1920's). Gibson was better known for their banjo ukes, and their wooden ukes never seem to have the cache and desirability of the Martin ukes of the same era. That being said, this is a highly decorated uke by a top American manufacturer, and still brings a premium price. I've seen these go for $1500-2000, but usually in pristine condition. This one has a lot of honest wear on it, and ought to go a bit lower.

Thank you all so much for the info! I cant beleive it is from the 1920's! It is just awesome to see something that old still in decent shape.

Style #1 is the most common, your style #3 is much more rare and appears to be in great shape for its age.
"The Gibson" definitely dates it to the 20's.
I have a soprano (style #1) and a Tenor from 1926.