Considering either a Kala ubass or Gold Tone m bass 25

dhbailey

Reaction score
I'm new to the ukelele world, having owned one and practiced for only 2 weeks now, but I've been a professional in the music world (band instrument repair, private lessons, performing on brass/woodwinds) for over 40 years.

I'm intrigued by these basses and am seriously considering buying one. I notice that most of the threads in this bass forum are fairly old so I thought I would start a new thread. I have read through many of the old threads.

Whenever I search on youtube all the demos have these instruments plugged in. I want to know how they sound acoustically. None of the music stores near me sell any so I can't get my hands on one to try.

My wife is a violinist/fiddler so it would be fun to jam with her around the house.

Also we both teach at a violin-oriented music camp for a week each year (I conduct the student orchestra) and I'm wondering how these would work acoustically for small fiddling classes of between 5 and 10 people.

Any insights into how these sound acoustically will be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

From what I've read on the forums, they are OK for quiet practice at home, but really need to be plugged in to be heard.

That's not too much of a downer though, as you can buy mains/battery powered amps. :)

Thanks -- that's the impression I got reading the forums, too. And I've got a battery/mains powered amp so I'm all set in that regard.

Don't discount the rondo hadean omegas. If you've done instrument work in the past you can hack into the hadean omega bass without too many regrets. Might be better to hold out for the longer scale and also consider going fretless as these ubasses have poor adjustment options.

The acoustic U-bass is almost silent when not plugged in. The Ohana is a little bigger and uses wound strings and can be heard in a small group unplugged.