Beginner's Video Help

Buddy McCue

Reaction score
I don't have a video recorder or a webcam or anything like that, but I'd like to get one. So many folks have YouTube videos that show themselves singing and playing on the uke. I'd like to do that too!

Are there any suggestions for me? I'm running on a Mac (OS X.) I'm familiar with iMovie and all kinds of graphics programs, and I've made videos using stop-motion, so I'm not a complete newbie. I just don't own a video camera.

If you're curious to see the stop-motion I'm talking about, you can visit my YT channel to see some of that. In fact, I'd like you to; I usually have my own original music as a soundtrack, so this is not completely OT for a music forum:
http://www.youtube.com/user/BMcCue7

Any recommendations that you might have for me would be greatly appreciated.

For best quality and cheapest price, I suggest you use one of those Flip Mino HD's. I think you can find them for around $200. It's got 4 gigs of space, and you can record in 16:9 widescreen. They're ultra-portable too.

I watched "Dancing Shoes," it was awesome. Which other videos of yours are stop-motion?

hey.. i asked this question for a logn time before i got a good answer.. but i am going to tell you what i do.. this is just what i do!! not what is best.. or what everyone does...

1. i open both iMovie and Garage Band..
2. i start the capture on imovie recording my every move
3. i then go over to garage band and start to work on my track.. i lay down the main track, percussion, solos, harp.. etc.. after i have that all tracked out and sounding.. good to me.. i export it to itunes..
4. i go back and stop the video.
5. i then pull parts of the video that i want into my project
6. i lay down the single audio track down and lay the video over the top.. doing my best to match them..
7. i turn the imovie volume OFF on the video.. and just let the mp3 stand as the audio