Resonance & Sustain

groundhogday

Reaction score
So, I'm a uke noob and have been strumming away on my first, a laminate mahogany Alvarez RU-22C. I'm using it for both fun and mental and physical therapy as I recover from injuries that affect my left hand. Just for giggles, I broke out my old Alvarez dreadnought guitar for the first time in a while. I'd forgotten how massive the resonance and sustain was, especially compared to my uke. You strum it and the strings ring forever and the solid spruce top vibrates like crazy. It is almost piano-like in the way it projects and vibrates. It's a very good guitar, but by no means top shelf. The top is solid as mentioned, but the rosewood back and sides are laminate AFAIK. I bought it second hand for $250 almost 20 years ago.
Is there anything comparable in the uke world without getting into high end and custom instruments? I don't expect an ukulele to have the sustain and volume of a guitar, but it would be nicer if a strummed chord didn't decay to being unheard within two or three seconds.

Generally the larger ukes have more sustain and resonance, but lose the uke-y, boxy, punchy sound one associates with the ukulele. The most guitar like ukulele is a baritone size.

I find that my Kala tenor solid cedar top, laminate acacia koa body, paduk binding, slotted headstock, cutaway with preamp is one of the best sustain and projection ukes I've played with the stock Aquila Nylgut strings, and stands up very well to the over $1000 K brands for about 1/3 the price, $370.

Yes, go for the bigger sizes, a tenor or even a baritone. Even within one size, there are significant differences in body volume (i.e. wider and/or deeper bodies). As others have pointed out, a soft wood top will probably help, too. Nothing will ring out like steel strings, though. If that's what you're after, I'd recommend the Pono UL4 models. They are just a little bigger than a baritone ukulele, but made for steel strings: