What is a good sub for bad nails?

amford

Reaction score
I'm trying to grow my nails... especially my thumb nail for picking, but, I have very thin brittle nails. I'm still going to work on them, BUT in the meantime, what can I do to practice good picking techniques? (a banjo pick for my thumb? fake nail for my thumb?.... any ideas?)

If you have the intention of using real nails at some point, a thumbpick is your best bet. Some guys get fake nails, but that's a last resort, it seems to me. Try a thumbpick and see what you can do for your nails and if all else fails - get a manicure have some fakies put on! All these many, many years of having long nails for picking and I've NEVER had a manicure. I think that's a shame...

Drink lots of water if you don't already.

My nails seem to work ok for uke but if I was still playing the steel string guitar, I would have to go with James Taylor's method:

Tommy Emmanuel uses a thumbpick....

Thanks for posting that video. I just started playing steel strings, and Taylor's method looks like a good compromise.

I have horrible nails that won't grow, so I use a thumb pick (these, specifically). Out of the box the picks are kind of long so I file them down to the length that I've decided is best for me. My other nails usually get long enough to just peek over the fingertip, which is just right - they don't need to be super long. But my thumbnail gets completely worn down from the wound low G strings I use.

If you're going to go the fake nails, then go the whole way. Florence Griffith-Joiner style (For all those under 40, go and google it).

You don't need long nails per se, just a nice angle for catching the string sharply but not enough to snag.

If you want to use your own nail "eventually" don't bother with a thumbpick. The "angle of attack" is different and the sound is different.

There's nothing wrong with a thumbpick if that's what you want, but, in my experience, the two options are almost totally different.