PDA

View Full Version : DGBE soprano?



whistleman123
02-25-2017, 07:23 AM
Sorry if this has been covered already but...
Is it possible to tune a soprano DGBE like a baritone?

Jim Hanks
02-25-2017, 09:52 AM
Yup, XLL string set on soprano gives DGBE: http://www.southcoastukes.com/linear.htm
It is an octave higher than baritone of course. I would venture to say you "cannot" get DGBE in the same octave as baritone

whistleman123
02-25-2017, 10:47 AM
Thanks a lot!

ProfChris
02-25-2017, 10:59 AM
If you want the same register as a baritone then you have two practical problems and one from the law of physics.

1. An unwound G would be too thick to sound or intonate properly. You might find a wound string which was usable. Low D will be too thick to work, even wound. The E already exists in the soprano set, and for both the D (re-entrant) and B you could use a C string, tuned appropriately. Or an E tuned down for the D.

2. Your nut slots will all need reworking to fit.

3. The physics problem is that C is close to the lowest note which will sing out on a soprano body. So your G will be weak. OTOH, a wound string often rings louder than an unwound, so it might not be too bad.

For the wound G, try a classical guitar A or possibly D.

Good luck if you try it, and let us know.