Ovation Applause

My first new guitar in 1975 was an Ovation Applause 6 string. A few years later I also bought a 12 string. Since taking up the uke four years ago, I haven't touched my guitars, but a couple of months ago I saw an Ovation Applause tenor uke sunburst on an eBay auction that looked just like my guitar, but instead of buying it outright for the $400 asking, I bid on it and lost out. I kicked myself over and over until a couple weeks later I saw a Marketplace listing for a Godin Multiuke with the same finish for $400 and jumped on it.

Last edited:
The second uke I bought when I started playing 9 years ago was an Ovation/Applause soprano (black just like the one above). Bought it used and I still own it today. Looks and sounds great.

Really sounds great. Truth be told, I think Cory could make a home made cardboard cigar box uke sound like a Mo'bettah. Way to go, Cory.

I have a tenor. I have mixed feeling about it. But I'm not getting rid of it
Pros:
Perfect intonation
Great tone
Great setup right out of the box
Spruce top model is beautiful to look at.
Great electronics

Cons
Chunky neck
Heavy for a ukulele
Slippery back. ( you need to wear a strap)
Quiet voice when played acoustically. (My wife think this is a pro not a con)
I got mine for $150 on a factory scratch and dent sale.
Although its not perfect I do not regret the purchase.

Last edited:
I had a Tanglewood take on the Ovation guitars as my first steel strung acoustic (a Tanglewood Odyssey if I remember correctly) about 15 years ago. Loved it, gigged with it a lot, ultimately gave it up when I downsized to one guitar only. It's a pity these ukes are no longer available as I'd love a concert scale one. The Clearwater ones available don't stir the same nostalgia with me.

Just Googled left handed Tanglewood Odysseys and there's someone nearby selling one secondhand. Now I'm tempted!