Slightly shrunken fretboard: Will oiling help?

imperialbari

Reaction score
Found a Kala Pocket uke at a very fair price at the site of a European web store. Actually I bought 4 of them for some stringing experiments I am carrying out. All four are quite good, only at one of them I can feel the ends of the frets in my left hand. Not that they stick out 0.5mm or so. They are just noticeable.

My suspicion is that this uke spent a long time in a too dry storage room. I am used to maintaining good recorders with bore oil, but I have no experience in oiling fretboards.

Will the fretboard come loose because the glue is challenged?

Which oil to use? I use almond oil with the recorders, but I don’t know whether it will make the fretboard sticky.

I have bee’s wax balsam that I use for furniture. Would that work?

Klaus

Bring the uke in to the bathroom when you take your next long, hot, steam shower. That will help restore moisture. You can also put it in a hardcase or plastic bin with a humidifier or moist sponge placed in a plastic bag with holes.

Regarding the fretboard, I've only ever used lemon oil. Your local store will sell some application-specific stuff but you can also buy it from a hardware store.

Ukulele Eddie has offered great advice! Lemon Oil is the accepted standard (even above other oils made for fretboards and sold elsewhere), and can be ordered from StewMac as well. That will only treat the wood, not make it expand.

As for the sharp fret ends, it might be worth sanding down the sharp ends (common issue), as the fretboard is likely to shrink again to its current condition when humidity continues to drop in the future--unless you are planning to keep your ukuleles stored in a humidified atmosphere. They fretboard, even in humid conditions may not expand to its initial size--but it is worth a try!

Thanks for the replies!