the essentials

Wayne909

Reaction score
Hello uke builders...

. I'm thinking of (havent entirely committed yet but I'm close) building a uke from scratch (or at least not a pre-bent, pre-cut kit). I've built one mountain banjo and have some other woodworking experience, but this will be only my second instrument and I don not consider myself skilled, just not a complete novice. Dont really want to do a kit if I can possibly avoid it.

I will be away from my normal home all summer, living in a tiny cabin with one small table. I have some woodworking tools, but I'm not real sure what I'll need. I dont want to bring any more along with me than the essentials, because space is very limited en route and when I get there. But I also dont want to have to buy something when I get there just because I didnt bring it along. In other words I want more than a knife but a lot less than a trunk full of tools.

So what will I definitely need and really wish I had, so I can bring it along if there is room...and if I have it?

I would also greatly appreciate recommendations on books or other written instruction. I have a dialup so I can access many of the great videos I'm sure are online...though I can occasionally connect to wireless its a sporadic thing.

Last edited:
Wayne,

Welcome to UU!

I'm building a kit, so I can only say so much... the big boys will chime in with much better advice than I have!

I bought way more tools than I've needed thus far. But the ones that have really gotten a lot of use are:
-chisel
-small plane
-6" & 12" rulers
-razor blade/utility knife
-combination square
-sandpaper & sanding blocks
-cutting board & no-slip grip stuff
-clamps (c-clamps, clothes pins, spring clamps, quick-grips, and a few cam clamps)
-glue (obviously!)