Fret Squeak

CounterZ

Reaction score
I'm new to Ukulele and am having an issue when i change chords, specifically the C string on the second fret, when I change from a G chord to a C or F chord. The string will sometimes squeak as I release the chord and move to the next chord. It isn't a problem when I'm playing slowly and easy, but is an issue while playing fast and hard. I am pretty good at fingering the note between the frets, so I believe my technique is good.

I can duplicate it by slowly raising my finger on the C string. When I do so the string will buzz on the top of the fret.

I don't see a flaw with the ukulele, but maybe there is something I'm unaware. Suggestions?

I'm not sure, but it sounds like you may be experiencing fret buzz and not string squeaking.

Fret buzz comes from a string contacting a fret other than the place you are fretting with your left hand. The string will vibrate against the fret and make a buzzing sound. This is due to a low string height or a high fret or aggressive strumming or plucking.

I have never experienced fret squeak with my left hand. I have however experienced a squeak with my right hand playing finger style. The sound comes from the mere contact of my right hand fingers with the strings. Acquila strings are the squeakiest strings I have used. I don't have a problem with squeakiness if I use fluorocarbon strings.

Keep practicing! :) Sounds like your hands aren't quite synced up and you are trying to make sound with the strings while your fretting hand is still moving between chords. Two approaches: switch chords faster or play the song slower. I'm always going to recommend #2. By going slower you'll have time to practice precise changes and be building positive chording habits.