NUD/FUD - First Uke Day - Kala KA-SCG

Bones43x

Reaction score
I finally got my Kala from HMS/The Ukulele Site. Well worth the wait. It looks, plays, and sounds great. I'll definitely buy from them again if I decide to get a tenor down the road. Also, I don't know if it was a mistake or if they were being nice, but it came with a case. :D

I'm new to the uke, but I've played guitar for 20 years. I didn't realize this until I started playing mine, tonight... It's basically the DGBE strings of a guitar, but a 4th higher. Of course the high G makes the voicings sound different, but it's nice not having to learn all new chords and scales.

I thought it would look good next to my Taylor 314ce.

Attachments

• IMG_5332.jpg
    IMG_5332.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_5335.jpg
    IMG_5335.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_5337.jpg
    IMG_5337.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_5342.jpg
    IMG_5342.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 29
Nice guitar, I love Taylors!
Aren't Kalas nice ukes?
Congrats!

Congrats. I too came from the guitar to the ukulele. Interesting that you didn't know the string equivalency. I did know of that before I got my first uke and actually practiced for the eventual ukulele purchase by using a capo at fifth fret on my guitar and playing only the top four strings. I don't play my guitar anymore. :D

One of my selling points about ukulele to middle school students is that if they can master the material they have been given, they will have a head start on guitar should they choose to pursue it someday. No, the ukulele is not a training device for a guitar--but there are still a lot of people in our culture that want to learn how to play guitar, and a recent app said that 90% of the people that start guitar abandon it very quickly (my guess would be that they do so with the F chord, which most of us--Soprano, Concert, and Tenor--think of as B-flat).

So...welcome to ukulele and the forums; and just enjoy the stuffing out of all of your instruments!