Recommendations for beginner material for 9 yr old

jjdejd

Reaction score
Any info, websites etc to help this young lady get started would be appreciated. She is getting an Ohana SK-22 from Mim for Easter. Thanks.

Last edited:
One and two chord songs. Dr. Uke has a good site. "Happy Birthday......Row row row your boat....."

I just posted about this...but YouTube is her friend. Particularly the work of the Ukulele Teacher. She will be able to play songs that she wants to learn, which will be crucial.

If a student is motivated to learn, they will spend HOURS with their ukulele and YouTube. One of my great joys after introducing many students to the ukulele is having 10-12 students who go home and play their ukulele until their parents ask them to stop. That seems like a bad ratio (12 out of 400) but I know of very few music students (taught in a "traditional" music class) who do the same on any other instrument. I'm a music teacher and I only practiced as much as I had to. Today it isn't uncommon for me to play hours at night, even playing all day long with my choirs.

I just posted about this...but YouTube is her friend. Particularly the work of the Ukulele Teacher. She will be able to play songs that she wants to learn, which will be crucial.

If a student is motivated to learn, they will spend HOURS with their ukulele and YouTube. One of my great joys after introducing many students to the ukulele is having 10-12 students who go home and play their ukulele until their parents ask them to stop. That seems like a bad ratio (12 out of 400) but I know of very few music students (taught in a "traditional" music class) who do the same on any other instrument. I'm a music teacher and I only practiced as much as I had to. Today it isn't uncommon for me to play hours at night, even playing all day long with my choirs.

I like the Ukulele Teacher site. I think I can work with it. Thanks.