Which types of Seaguar fishing line to buy for various strings

imperialbari

Reaction score
I need some more or less non-standard string solutions. The name coming up again and again for fluorocarbon fishing lines is Seaguar.

I could start from scratch an buy all their variants, but I am a bit too old for that. My immediate impression from looking at the Seaguar pages about fluorocarbon lines is that their lines are thinner than most of the Martin M600 and M620 strings I use for my tenors, concerts, sopranos, and sopraninos. Fine insofar, that I could use thinner strings for the high sopranino tunings.

But less optimal for my goal of making a good reentrant set for the Pono BN-10 that I have plans on buying. Another thread here adviced me toward Seaguar for the 1st, 2nd, and 4th strings supplemented by a wound G string bough from a German maker.

I am not smart in navigating sites about stuff I have no experience with. I haven’t fished since 1956, so this isn’t a strong area of mine. One type of lines looked like having good gauges, but I got a strong suspicion those lines were woven or spun in one way or another.

So a strong and exact pointer towards the right pages and the right gauges would be very helpful to this old guy. From there on I hope to be able to find a supplier within the EU, as the handling fees of the red tape for imports from the US are prohibitive for smaller items.

Thanks!

Klaus in DK

I don't know if there's a noticeable difference in the variations (Blue Label, Pink Label, etc.), but here's Seaguar's page on their saltwater fluoro leaders.

http://seaguar.com/saltwater/fluorocarbon.html

Available at Amazon.

I went to the Blue Label only because I saw it mentioned by other people. I did some experimenting myself recently; spent a bunch of money and couldn't get the result I was after (my own fault for not thinking enough first). Read about that here: