Are You a Uke Ambassador?

Ukecaster

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the uke, from the guitar world, but already find myself urging others to try the uke. My daughter was musical in high school, but not afterwards, so I've been letting her try my ukes, providing chord charts and cool, current songs she could easily play, if she takes to it. We'll see. She told me she has at least 2 other friends who play uke. How about you...how many have you recruited to the friendly uke world?

I don't actively recruit people. I do talk about ukuleles and mention them to social contacts, as it's in the center of my creative life, but I only go deeper and offer suggestions or specific recommendations if I'm directly approached. Two or three times I playfully said something like, "Hey, you would probably enjoy the ukulele!" if someone said they would like to learn an instrument, but I've never really been proactive about getting people to play. (Mostly because if someone tries to convince me of something with any sort of persistence, I shut down and lose what little interest I may otherwise have had.) I think this is the kind of hobby that is best spread by doing: playing music on it, enjoying it, being happy with (or because of) it.

Uke Ambassador! We need tee shirts!

While relatively new to the ukulele myself, I am doing my best to populate the planet with beautiful music. My cousins and great niece, ages 7, 8, and 3 have all received ukuleles from me. I gave my best friend one for her birthday. And just last week, while stuck in the Atlanta airport waiting for a flight, I handed my flea to a fellow stranded coworker and gained another convert. She told me she plays slide on her grandfather's old Martin guitar and commented about my flea "it's so light!" Next thing I knew, she was on her phone, Googling fleas!