Am I limiting myself by learning to play baritone uke tuned to GDAE?

heyuke!

Reaction score
Hi All. I'm just getting started learning my baritone uke. I bought it from an old fella that I met one day and he gave me a couple of lessons with the uke tuned like a mandolin (GDAE).

I've since lost touch with him and feel a bit adrift without support. I am starting to wonder if it makes sense to learn to play baritone in the standard tuning, like the bottom four strings of the guitar as I understand.

What are your thoughts about this? Am I going to find more support to learn playing with the standard tuning that with the mando tuning? I'm already scouring the internet for books and am referring to mandolin books, but not sure that's my best choice. Should I start on a more traditional note before venturing off into mando land with this baritone uke?

What are the pros and cons?

Thanks for your suggestions!

There is nothing wrong with alternate tunings for the uke. I play mandolin and ukulele and like them both, however, maybe it is going to be easier for you to get support from the ukulele community if you have your baritone in standard baritone tuning.

If, on the other hand, you really enjoy the mando tuning, stick with it. Nobody will kick you out of a uke group because of it.

Last edited:
I'd go for a standard tuning (even baritone resources are relatively limited, but there's enough around and DGBE works well on a baritone) and look into alternate tunings later on when you have more experience under your belt. The most material is available for reentrant GCEA tuning, but it works best on smaller ukes.

Thank you everybody! Your suggestions have been very helpful!

Are there any "Baritone Uke for Dummies" types of books out there that you would recommend? Super easy books to learn from for beginners?

Thanks again!

Are there any "Baritone Uke for Dummies" types of books out there that you would recommend? Super easy books to learn from for beginners?!