Soundhole sideways or frontal? (Sound for you or for everybody else?)

Finn Bjerke

Reaction score
My Wonderfull Uluhru uke has soundhole "sideways" and sends the sound to me not away from me, I LOVE IT...

Also its the prettiest uke in da world...

How do you feel about alternative soundhole-placement (In the Ukulelle that is) Is ther eempirical grounds for having frontal sound holes ? Or F shaped ones ? Link to ukulele here:

cow uke.jpg

As an amateur builder I've experimented a lot with sound hole placement and shapes.
It's been my experience that sound hole placement is more critical then shape.
A few times I've built cigar box soprano ukuleles from boxes that were a little on the small side so I put in a side hole. I have always been pleased with the result.

I saw this design on eBay by Bruce Wei Arts in Vietnam from whom I've had a few customs made, and as soon as I saw it, I ordered one with solid spalted mango top, flame mango body, spalted mango binding, maple neck, ebony fretboard & bridge and Florentine cutaway. It has sound holes all the way around the body and a larger one in the cutaway (which was an accident of second language communication, but I like it). Everyone that hears it says it has really good projection and sustain. It plays great and makes a great impression.

side holes.jpg

Spalted done montage.jpg

Last edited:
The sound hole as it is called is in fact a hole to let air in and out. Most frequencies will not emanate from the so called sound hole. I have stopped using frontal holes since 2008. This makes the bracing pattern of a uke or guitar far more flexible and opens up more top area for the strings to excite.
Traditionalists love their front holes as it is what is expected.
Look at a violin and listen to the volume of this instrument. No big round hole in the middle and all of that big sound does not come out of those little F holes.
It comes from the whole of the instrument and not out of the holes.