Humidity Recommendations

rossjr

Reaction score
Aloha!

I am pretty new to Ukulele's but within the past two years I bought two Ukulele's both to play and display. We live in Minnesota but our hearts are in Hawaii so we've decorated out Living Room and Dining Room in a Hawaiian theme. Part of that has us displaying the Ukulele's on the wall. The two Ukulele's we have are solid woods Mango and Koa, the Koa being the most recent addtion.

Dispite using a cord humidifier, the Mango Ukulele developed a surface crack on the the face of the body from the bridge to the edge with the grain. The crack disapears in the summer months and repairs in the winter. We want to continue to display the beautiful instruments and I definately don't want the same thing to happen to the Koa instrument. So the question is, I am thinking of getting a room humidifier and placing it under the Ukulele's for the winter. How effective do you think this would be and do you have any other recommendations other than leaving them in a case with a case humidifier.

Finally, I am looking into getting the Mango Ukulele reapired. I have contacted the manufacturer but they have not responded yet. Any recommendations for repair on the mainland if I don't hear back from them?

Mahalo!:shaka: