Mid-Range Tenor Choices - Help Please

wake

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been reading on here for several days now and I'm a little frustrated/confused...

I'm a guitarist looking to purchase my first uke. I think I want a tenor... I have a budget of up to $700. Why spend that much on my first uke, you might ask. I prefer to buy a mid range or just a step beyond entry level, to avoid a quicker second purchase. It also affords me real wood - something I value. It is also sometimes easier to sell if it comes to that, but I don't think it will.

After quite a bit of reading - one of the takeaways I got from one of the members here in a forum thread is that the $500 - $900 range is kind of a "no mans land" when it comes to ukes. There are nice high end and there are lots of choices in the entry levels, but mid range choices are lacking.

I was initially drawn to the following:

KoAloha Opio Tenor - Acacia
Romero Creations - Tiny Tenor (Koa or Mahogany)
Martin T1K

I've also been looking on the used forum, but there really hasn't been anything that's come up - otherwise I might try to snag a used K brand tenor.

Would you please kindly give me some advice as to what to do? It's a good problem to have, but I'd very much like to be playing.

Thank you in advance.

Between Pono's, Mele's, and used tenors, you may have more choices than you think, depending on what's for sale when you happen to be shopping. If you can wait, may find an amazing tenor right here in the marketplace. I have seen used Kanilea and Kamaka's in your price range....not often, but I have seen them.

Last edited:
There are very good ukes at the $700 range and you have listed a few of them. The Opio tenor in particular is a canon. Add to your list a Pono tenor, you might need to stretch to $800 for a pro classic model which will get you a spruce or cedar top with a hard wood back.

Used is a great way to go.......if you can be patient...which I know is hard:p