Recording loops or backing tracks

JerryR

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a fairly new uke player and would like to record some simple background loops so I can work on playing sections of the melody.

I have a Mac computer, iPhone7 and an Islander Tenor Uke.

I'm considering purchasing the iRig Acoustic Stage to use along with the accompanying Amplitude App and add on the Looper feature as a simple way to record a basic rythm and chord progression.

I also have Guitar Pro 6 and the entire Adobe CC library of apps including Adobe Audition.

As a complete newbie I'm not sure if the above will allow me to do what I want.

Any and all input greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jerry
San Diego, CA

Thanks for he suggestion. I think I saw this on the tonight show. This could work, I was just hoping for something that would give me better quality without getting crazy with an amp and pedals etc.

Personally, I simply record straight into my Windows 10 laptop using the built-in microphone and the freeware program "Audacity", then set it to repeat play, once edited to get the start and end to loop seamlessly ;)

Alternatively, I'll assemble a multi-part piece of music in ABC and generate MIDI files. This way I can mute whichever part of the music I want and play along with my ukulele, mandolin, whistle, bass or whatever takes my fancy ... :music:

I use Sessionband on the iPhone/Ipad. It comes in loads of styles including a Ukulele one. I make a loop in that then export it to my four track or my looper pedal. Works a treat :)

I was just hoping for something that would give me better quality without getting crazy with an amp and pedals etc.