Rugby Songs

Inner Prop

Reaction score
Mundelein, Fremont Township, Lake County, Illinois
This will be a very long introduction to the question, but I'm hoping I can tell the story interestingly.

First a caveat: I'm not a very good uke player. I've been playing for a couple of years but have not put much time in it, nor am I particularly talented with my fingers. I can play probably about 10-12 chords and really can't pick. Mostly I use my uke to accompany my singing (which I find very nice and I think others find tolerable).

I am from the USA. I started playing Rugby Union when I started college (Feb 1985). I still play for a social side and I want to bring my uke to the pub after the game but I fear a Bluto from "Animal House" preemptively ending my song and my uke (if you know ruggers you know that's a very distinct possibility).

I'm looking for some songs I can learn down pat, ones that will cause a room full of ruggers to break into song (another thing if you know ruggers is a distinct possibility) and is so compelling no one would ever think to go all "I Gave My Love a Cherry" on it.

Here's a little bit of a story. After a few years in college several of us ruggers found ourselves living in the same house with a huge front porch. We naturally became the "Rugby House" and hosted the parties. One particullar Saturday we were celebrating another Illini win (University of Illinois) when one of the opposition picked up a guitar from somewhere (I have no idea where it came from or how it got in the house) and started singing "Good Lovin" by The Rascals. Everybody sang along and when the keyboard solo part came someone even sang that.

It was a riot and when I found out, three lifetimes later, about ukuleles I realized I now had access to the same kind of song leading.

Help me live my decades-long dream of leading a group of ruggers in song, please.