Kala KA-TG "To Gloss or not to Gloss??"

Coggo67

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Short time forum lurker, 1st time poster.

I will be in Hawaii in a few weeks & am looking to purchase a "budget" tenor uke from MGM.

I am a raw beginner with no other musical experience, who currently is trying to learn on a Lanikai Soprano pinapple (bought at the uke shop at the Aloha tower on a previous trip - they "saw us coming") Live and learn.

The fret spacing is just too small for me

I will probably get either the KA-T or KA-TG, which run @ about $200 AUD from MGM.

I really do like the look of the gloss finish but will it affect the tone, etc compared to the matte finish. Or being a laminated body, will there be little to no difference?

Also, is there much of a sound difference between either of the above mentioned ukes and the KA-ASMT, which I would ideally like to get. But at over $300 AUD, I don't think the Chief Minister of War & Finance (AKA "The Wife") will approve the expenditure. :)

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Ian

Last edited:
I have the KA-T and have played the gloss version and I think the sound is a little muted by the gloss finish with the same strings on that Uke (Aquilla's) but both sound nice.

A couple weeks back I went in and side by side tested/played the KA-T and the ASMT both with Aquilla strings. I was lookin to get another budget Tenor to have a High and Low g (yes I have a high g maple/spruce top Kala and uas, But these are my play outside in the low Denver humidity Ukes) But I di-gress back to the topic....

The sound was fuller from the ASMT but not as much as I was expecting after playin a Pono all Mahogany Tenor, so I ended up goin with the KA-T and am goin to put the extra $$$$ in my KoAloha Tenor fund!!!!

Thanks Freedive.
So in your opinion, is the ASMT worth the $100 price difference for a new player? (not sure on the exact price as MGM doesn't have any listed at the moment)

Cheers,

Ian