Patience with new ukes

Ukecaster

Reaction score
How long does it take you to decide whether you like a new uke, and decide to keep it? As a long time guitarist, I can usually tell after a few strums if I like a guitar. If it's not the tone I like, it goes back on the shop wall quickly. I know all about instruments "opening up" after a period of time/play, but I usually just don't have the patience to wait months or years for that. I know strings can make a difference too, but overall, if I don't like the volume or tone right off the bat, or within a week or two at most, it's not a keeper for me. How about you?

I've been playing ukulele and guitar since the 1960s. I can determine quickly whether an instrument is a quality build, if the intonation is good, if the fit and finish are good, etc. There are lots of variables to consider with the tone of an instrument. I once posted a list of tone woods and their respective sounds so that people could know what to expect as a general rule when choosing a solid wood constructed instrument. Humidity, altitude, and other factors influence tone with age, but, I am able to predict an instrument's tone as it ages based on the wood, construction, and over-all climate. I don't generally buy an instrument without knowing what to expect.

... overall, if I don't like the volume or tone right off the bat, or within a week or two at most, it's not a keeper for me. How about you?

... I don't generally buy an instrument without knowing what to expect.

Yes, and yes! I pretty much know right away, usually before committing to buy.

Being unable to buy locally, all my ukes have had to come via the internet, & my assessment of them from online videos.
Maybe luck or down to my judgement, but with this method of purchase, I have been OK, & have received what I expected.

Ive never had a uke get better. Either its good, or its not. "Patience" is a ploy to hope you convince yourself not to return it.