Takumi

pix.fairydust

Reaction score
Hello :)

I'm fairly new to ukulele, but not to music! And have been around the forum before as a visitor but never posted. I've been playing my uke for over a year now and am lucky to have some beautiful ukuleles. I've got a takumi TS-3M solid hondouran mahogany soprano and Kanile'a KCS-C koa slothead concert, with a possible koaloha port orford cedar/purple heart or solid koa tenor in the pipeline... The kanile'a and koaloha have a great reputation and my takumi sounds great and gives the kanile'a a run for its money playing wise but I can't find much info about them. Are the takumi in a similar league to the big 5? Does anyone else have any experience? They don't seem to be that many around.

Of all the instruments I've ever played my ukuleles are the most fun by a mile, and the only ones I think about playing when I should be thinking about other stuff!!

Thanks to all who reply :)
Pix

Hey there and welcome! Lucky you, with a Takumi. I don't own one but have had the pleasure of playing a couple, and it's on my "someday" wish list for sure. They're fairly hard to come by, at least here in the United States. I'm curious to know how you came by yours?

My go-to ukes have for years now been Kamakas, but I recently came into a couple of Kiwayas and a Famous from Japan, all of which are distributed by Takumi but a bit more basic - the Takumis I've seen have more tonewood options and I think are considered customs, while Kiwaya is a factory line that I consider on par with the K-brands in terms of quality, but an entirely different sound and playability.

Thanks for your reply :) clears things up