Strum knuckle pain

Selmer

Reaction score
Firstly, hello to everybody.

I'm a musician of some 40 years approx, mostly guitar and other stringed instruments, and have been fooling around with the Ukulele for a couple of months.

Recently, I've been getting what I thought was Arthritic pain in my strum hand Index finger.

I had an x-ray and it came back normal, and then it struck me that perhaps what was causing my pain, was the strumming of the Ukulule.

Because of my background, I play very much a freestyle variety of strumming, and probably have taken a few things for granted.

So, I've decided that I've probably been careless with my technique, and have been straining the finger by using too much 'side' contact, as opposed to 'nail on' where the finger would bend.

Is this something other guys have experienced, and if so, did you rectify it with better technique, or did the problem persist?

Are the more proficient players amongst you ensuring you are using 'nail on' or like me, do you often use side on?

I've only been playing a couple of months after playing guitar for years, but I have also had to make some strumming modifications after some knuckle pain. It is quite a bit better now.

I've only been playing a couple of months after playing guitar for years, but I have also had to make some strumming modifications after some knuckle pain. It is quite a bit better now.

Thanks Josh.

I was a bit worried initially as I'd never had it before and abused my hands on other instruments plenty. I must be catching the strings sideways too much. I'm enjoying the instrument a lot though and wish I'd took the plunge much sooner. New instrument new learning curve.