Friction tuner question

RafterGirl

Reaction score
What's the deal with friction tuners? I see a lot of folks who comment about preferring geared tuners over friction. Others seem to be strongly against friction tuners. One of the concert ukes I'm considering in the future (Loprinzi) comes with Grover friction tuners. Is it a personal preference thing, or are there definite disadvantages to friction tuners? Is it possible to change them out to something else when I buy (probably from HMS, as I'd also get a pickup installed). All my current ukes have geared tuners of some sort, so I have no knowledge about anything else.

Geared tuners have a turn ratio that lets you bring the strings into tune gradually, so you can sneak up on it. Friction tuners can be touchy and often times you have to mess around setting the tuners themselves so you have just the right amount of friction to hold the strings in tune, but still turn smoothly. There is a learning curve in figuring them out. But they are quite simple. They are a one to one ratio, and once you get them set up and get used to them, you can bring a string into tune very quickly. Friction tuners have that old school, "look how cool I am" sort of thing going for them. I like them both, in each their own way.

Last edited:
Friction tuners get a bad rap, decent quality friction tuners work fine and generally weigh less than geared tuners. Geared tuners are often 16 to 1 ratio, and friction tuners are straight 1 to 1. They just take a little more finesse and a few more seconds to get them in tune as you generally go a little sharp, then flat until you dial it in. If you decide to try friction tuners and don't like them, it is not hard to convert it to geared tuners. If you do have friction tuners, I do recommend carrying a small screw driver in your case in case they have to be tightened.