Another thread about string tension... What exactly is "high string tension?"

Rob.c

Reaction score
Another thread about string tension... What exactly is "high string tension?"

Dear All,

This is my first post, I'm Rob! I've been playing the ukulele for around 2 years. Introduction over!

So, I've been reading up on string tension... And, I'm still none the wiser - OK, I think I have a grasp on the basic principles, but I still have some questions. I've looked at various websites and many of the forum posts on UU, yet haven't really been able to find an answer to my questions.

I have been comparing information from various string manufacturers and sometimes it is hard to find out the precise string tension of popular sets of strings.

For this post, I will use soprano string tensions to compare.

I'm sure at one point or another we have all heard the term "higher string tension" being used, sometimes as a selling point. I read an article by the Ukulele Site, which raised alarm bells! In the article they mention 'Microwound' strings and NOT to use them on lightly braced ukes in case they create a 'belly' - http://www.theukulelereview.com/2012/10/01/ukulele-strings-nutshell-and-new/ Whenever I hear about higher string tension it is usually referencing fluorocarbon strings and comparing them to Aquila's (if I'm not mistaken?) So, having read that article my first question was could fluorocarbon strings create this 'belly' if the instrument was designed for Aquila strings? With cheaper instruments this may not be a problem because they are usually heavily braced, but with higher end instruments would this be the case? One brand that springs to mind is Kanilea who specifically voice their instruments with Aquila in mind...