Accompaniment/playing well with others

Piecomics

Reaction score
Hi all, since collectively I get the best advice here, I'm curious if anyone has advice on this… I am a drummer more than a ukulele player, and feel very comfortable sitting in with a group and just playing along on the drums. I do not feel good with the ukulele that way, despite having a good handle on playing chords.

I am curious if anyone has advice on this? What are the skills required for this? I have difficulty hearing the chord that is being played, and if someone is playing a melody hearing chord changes. (Or knowing generally what chord to play...

Thanks!
Ben

Piecomics,

I don't have any advice about systematically figuring out chord changes, it is something that comes with time. When learning to play chords along with the melody, one of the easiest things to do is write the chords with the lyrics to follow along. After a while, it will come to you like following changes with the drums.

I can do that, and really have minimal to no difficulty when I can write the chords down, my difficulty is when I need to hear the song and pick out the chords.

The only way you learn is to play with others is to play with others. There is no substitute for experience. It will come.

To me, playing with others requires active listening, which enables me to find the 'groove' of the song. Otherwise the performance will sound robotic and disconnected.

In order to be successful, aka 'sound good' to both the performers AND the audience, playing with others is more of a conversation rather than discreet 'parts' just slapped together...

Small groups can do this easier than large groups and that is usually why in classical music a quartet does not have a conductor, but a full orchestra does, the conductor helps to 'keep it together'.