Is the Kala Thinline Tenor any good?

Coggo67

Reaction score
Hi Guys
Does anyone have any experience with the Kala Thinline Tenor (mahogony back)?
How does it compare to the ka-st?

The sound videos I can find on both seem to have the Travel uke sounding better (louder,clearer & brighter)to my beginner ear. But that could just be the video clip quality!

Also, how does it feel to hold? Being thinner, is it harder to hold and therfore harder to play (remembering I am an absolute newbie)?

Also, does the gigbag that comes with the Travel uke offer much protection? Does it have a pocket for accessories?

Lastly, is it worth the extra $30 over the ka-st?

Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide.

Ian C

Ask Musicguymic. He has a couple of clips playing it. It's intriguing as a second uke and I am tempted by it myself (as an eighth or ninth uke...). If you're looking at a travel uke, consider a Flea or Fluke, too.

The larger body of a standard uke should produce a wider tonal range with more low-end harmonics.

my guess is that it wont resonate as loud or as long as a normal bodied 'ukulele, simply because the body cavity is smaller. if the thinline is an electric, it'll probably sound better plugged in than a normal uke.

that said, when we made the thinlines for MGM, thats what happened, less feedback than a regular uke, actually feels nice when you're holding it. easier to play in my opinion, just because your right arm doesnt have to wrap around as much uke as normal.

Thanks for those replies.
I will be purchasing from MGM in a few weeks & pick up when on Holiday in Hawaii.

Kaneohe Til The End. How did the the thinline compare against the KA-ST? Similar sound?

Cheers,

Ian C

Thanks for those replies.
I will be purchasing from MGM in a few weeks & pick up when on Holiday in Hawaii.

Kaneohe Til The End. How did the the thinline compare against the KA-ST? Similar sound?

Cheers,

Ian C