PDA

View Full Version : Tenor Ukulele recs?

exfairy
10-12-2017, 11:07 AM
Hey, new to this forum. I've been playing ukulele for about 4/5 years and own 2 sopranos and a concert. I'm thinking of getting a tenor now to accompany myself in my performance at uni (either before or after christmas, it depends on this other thing). I feel like a tenor would better suit the tone of the piece as the concert's a little too light but a guitar feels too bulky for it.
Any recommendations for electro acoustic ones, ideally with a strap, under 100?

JesterBlod
10-14-2017, 07:10 AM
At under 100 it will be pushing it to get a good electro tenor uke; If you consider that buying just the quality electrics would probably set you back at least 100 on their own (cheaper piezo pickups are available mind you).

If you can push your budget just a little, take a look at Snail ukuleles - very good value, not heard anything about their electro versions though.

Alternatively, if you are happy with your Concert Uke - why not get quality electrics fitted to it?

Croaky Keith
10-14-2017, 07:40 AM
Not many electro acoustics in that price range. :)

Some people have had good things to say about Caramel ukes, but import duty & taxes for us Brits will probably rule them out.
Kala &/or Ohana are good for their price, but electro will cost half as much again.

Maybe consider a baritone instead(?), the lower end Kala is pretty good for the price, & will give you the regular 4 higher strings of a guitar in a much smaller & lighter package. Usually has a 20" scale, tuned DGBE.

If you really need a pick up, you won't get a half decent uke for 100. :(

ErnieElse
10-14-2017, 07:43 AM
It is not in your price range but for the money you will not do better than this....

http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?128796-FS-Kala-KA-ASOV-T-tenor-All-solid-Fishman-AG-passive-pickup-Mint-UK-seller

spookelele
10-14-2017, 05:32 PM
Consider saving more money.