Tenor Ukulele recs?

exfairy

Reaction score
Hey, new to this forum. I've been playing ukulele for about 4/5 years and own 2 sopranos and a concert. I'm thinking of getting a tenor now to accompany myself in my performance at uni (either before or after christmas, it depends on this other thing). I feel like a tenor would better suit the tone of the piece as the concert's a little too light but a guitar feels too bulky for it.
Any recommendations for electro acoustic ones, ideally with a strap, under £100?

At under £100 it will be pushing it to get a good electro tenor uke; If you consider that buying just the quality electrics would probably set you back at least £100 on their own (cheaper piezo pickups are available mind you).

If you can push your budget just a little, take a look at Snail ukuleles - very good value, not heard anything about their electro versions though.

Alternatively, if you are happy with your Concert Uke - why not get quality electrics fitted to it?

Last edited:
Not many electro acoustics in that price range. :)

Some people have had good things to say about Caramel ukes, but import duty & taxes for us Brits will probably rule them out.
Kala &/or Ohana are good for their price, but electro will cost half as much again.

Maybe consider a baritone instead(?), the lower end Kala is pretty good for the price, & will give you the regular 4 higher strings of a guitar in a much smaller & lighter package. Usually has a 20" scale, tuned DGBE.

If you really need a pick up, you won't get a half decent uke for £100. :(

Consider saving more money.
I think your current budget will not buy you something you would be happy with.

If you are looking for a reasonable electro acoustic, I suggest you think in terms of adding at least another 50% to your current budget and more. You may, of course strike lucky as I did with a closing down sale. But within your existing budget, that's what you will have to be looking for.