Got First Uke, Anything I Need To Know??

BigJon

Reaction score
I FINALLY got my first ukulele, I've been borrowing a friend's uke for about six months and thought it was time to get my own. I didn't want to go into it spending hundreds of dollars, so i went with the kala ka-c mahagony laminate ukulele. I realize that laminate ukuleles usually don't have the best sound, (if i'm wrong, correct me) but i though the reviews of the ka-c were good enough for the price. Basically I just want to know if there is any important information that i need to be aware of while starting to play the ukulele (care, maintenance, playing, ANYTHING!) just let me know!!!! :)

Mahalo!!!!:shaka:
BigJon

my advice: spend lots of time on this site, looking at the uke minutes, lessons, etc. also look over the beginners section, which you seem to already be doing, since this thread is in it. other than that, the golden rule is...(drumroll) ENJOY YOURSELF!!! dont ever get frustrated, take it one step at a time. some things will require practice, for instance, you will most likely have problems with chunking. practice practice practice. play play play.

With that uke...you don't have to worry too much. Keep it in it's case when not playing it, play it when you wake up, play it before bed, play it as much as possible in between and give it a good night kiss before bed. When you do those things out of habit, naturally and without thinking...you have come to love the ukulele.

Then watch out for UAS!!! :p

Yeah, no worries. Kala's are good brand ukuleles - I have two of them. I would suggest downloading some chord charts, search the internet for some easy ukulele songs (there are a bunch out there). And just start learning songs. After a few months you'll be an old pro.

Then that's when the addiction sets in and you start spending your bill money on ukuleles. :eek:

Do you have a tuner? The electric clip on I got is PRICELESS to me. It is way way worth the money I spent.