Early Music

Iza

Reaction score
Does anybody else think that medieval and renaissance music sounds really good on the ukulele? I heard Tourdion by Wilfried Welti on YouTube and bought the e-book with the tabs just for this song, as it is one of my favourites. Unfortunately I couldn't play all of it yet, it's difficult for me. :( But I can play Greensleeves and Scarborough Fair just fine. :cool: Can you suggest any medieval tunes for me? I'm not a total beginner but I'm not a good player either.

Tony Mizen's book From Lute to Uke would be my recommendation - he also has a few other classical books that are worth checking out. His arrangements are really nice!

YES
This is exactly what I was looking for.
Time to save some money.
Thanks.

I have Tony Mizen's book. It's very good but I haven't played it much. I play a lot of early music on recorder but I use the uke primarily for singing. I sing songs from the 17th & 18th century and have my 8 string uke tuned like a Renaissance Guitar.

I always get a kick out of these threads. Everyone seems to buy a (Hawaiian) ukulele, and then tries to play Jazz or Rock or Baroque or Gypsy or God only knows what else. I wonder if even Hawaiians are playing the music of the islands.

Now don’t get me wrong . . . of course it’s okay. Play what ever you like, but I just find it amusing. :eek:ld:

Amazon has been pushing that book on me for months and I've been ignoring them. :eek: I don't think I'm ready skill-wise to take the plunge, but after watching that beautiful performance by Wilfried Welti it's now on my ukulele bucket list.

What is amusing about it?

I'm currently messing around with both nagauta songs and maskandi Zulu music on the uke, sounds good!

I always get a kick out of these threads. Everyone seems to buy a (Hawaiian) ukulele, and then tries to play Jazz or Rock or Baroque or Gypsy or God only knows what else. I wonder if even Hawaiians are playing the music of the islands.