Do I still Think My Ukes Sound Good?

PhilUSAFRet

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
First time hearing aid user early this AM. My hearing has been going for a long time. Now I have to carefully evaluate the tone of all my ukes to see if I still think they sound as good to me as I thought they did when I first got them. Anyone else have this experience? How did it go for you?

I'm 68 and my hearing has been going little-by-little the last 10 years, especially the highs, but have not had to go to a hearing aid yet. I still find my ukes to sound good, I just changed one to string-through and I feel like the resonance improved, but that could be just be wishful thinking.

I have been wearing hearing aids for several years now. I have a love/hate relationship with them. I have a 50% hearing loss, so I really need them, but I find music harder to listen to now. I often take them out to play music.

Remember: no matter how good they are, things will not sound the same as they do with "real" ears. So, there will be some differences. That being said, they can be adjusted so make sure you talk to your audiologist about your needs. Mine have a setting that helps enhance music. I forget to use it, though, and that setting makes mine much louder. I need to get it adjusted . . . :p

Don't worry. It takes a little while to adjust to them but it will be ok. And you can always take them out if you need to. :)

For me it depends on too many factors, how well I slept, do I have a cold, was it a noisy day at work, etc. etc.
Sometimes I find my ukes too loud after a noisy day, then I'll do more fingerpicking than strumming.
I haven't focussed on how good they sound as much as how they feel when I'm playing.
And when I hear my girlfriend singing in tune from the next room, I know that my uke is sounding great :)