Concert to Soprano

bsfloyd

Reaction score
Hello gang! I am hoping to hear others experiences when switching from concert scale to soprano scale in terms of playability. From my guitar playing experience (I am very new to ukulele), I know that the shorter the scale the lower the string tension - physics.

However, just yesterday I was out still shopping for my first uke at our "not so" local Guitar Center (which was a complete waste of time) and was playing both concert and soprano scale instruments. What I was discovering is opposite of what I thought - that being it felt like the soprano ukuleles had a harder string tension over the concert scale instruments. I'm going to go out on a limb and say it is most likely due to too high of action at the nut? I just don't know if some of this has to do with possibly being unconsciously cramped up on the shorter scale length? Are there different string thicknesses for ukuleles the same there are for classical guitar - i.e. hard, medium, soft/light?

I would love to hear your stories and experiences regarding the topic and going from concert scale to soprano scale. Thanks!

I really don't have a story, but I recently bought a soprano after four years playing concert. It was a non-event as far a playability. I've been switching between the two as my mood strikes me over the last week or so and I haven't noticed much of a difference. About the only thing that has caught my attention is that for some of the more spread out chords I don't have to reach so far for them.

I really don't have a story, but I recently bought a soprano after four years playing concert. It was a non-event as far a playability. I've been switching between the two as my mood strikes me over the last week or so and I haven't noticed much of a difference. About the only thing that has caught my attention is that for some of the more spread out chords I don't have to reach so far for them.