Passing of ukulele builder Steve Vanpelt (please read)

Jddewitt81

Reaction score
It is with my deepest sympathy to report the passing of ukulele builder Steve Vanpelt.

Admittedly I hadn’t heard much about Steve as I wasn’t playing the ukulele when he was building. That all changed a few days ago when Ginny posted her soprano Vanpelt ukulele for sale on Ukulele Underground. Being a soprano player I just knew I had to have it. I fell in love with the wood combination and the attention to to detail Steve used from the pictures alone. Not knowing anything about him as a builder I thought I would take a chance on it. I contacted her immediately and told her I would take it!

Like many people I wanted to find out more about who made my lovey new instrument so I decided to search for him. Surprisingly I found very little. I did find a few old posts he made and an old video of him at the Reno uke convention. Through my searches I could see that many people loved the work he did and many people had also wondered where he went so suddenly.

I just happened to search Facebook and found a post by a lovely woman named Terry Ross Vanpelt. She had stated that her husband had passed. She made this post just days AFTER I had already purchased the Vanpelt ukulele.

I contacted her immediately with my deepest sympathy but I had to make sure that this was him. Sadly it indeed was him and she reported that he had actually passed away October 8, 2017. She gave me her number and I called her immediately.