Question about fretboards

samtay6

Reaction score
So I am fairly new to Ukulele, been playing about 5 months, but I've been playing guitar for around 4 years so I know my way around stringed instruments. My girlfriend got me a Kamoa Soprano for a gift, and it is awesome.

My question is, the fretboard on my Kamoa has some interesting striations on it, of which I have never seen on a fretboard before. I at first thought it was just an issue of the fretboard not getting enough oil, so I've been using Weiman Lemon Oil to give it some nourishment, but the patterns are still there. I just want to know if any other ukes have this and if it is a bad thing. Included are some pics of my fretboard adjusted so you can see the patterns.

As far as I can tell the fretboard is rosewood, but I have no clue how to tell other than that it isn't maple and it doesn't look as dark as ebony.

Attachments

• fretboard 1.jpg
    fretboard 1.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 48
  • fretboard2.jpg
    fretboard2.jpg
    49.7 KB · Views: 54
  • fretboard3.jpg
    fretboard3.jpg
    51.9 KB · Views: 47
If you're talking about the lighter color grain streaks it's not uncommon in Rosewood or even Ebony, i've seen it in both and kind of like it. ;)

If you're talking about the lighter color grain streaks it's not uncommon in Rosewood or even Ebony, i've seen it in both and kind of like it. ;)

Yeah those streaks were exactly what I was talking about. I like it too, I just wanted to make sure my Uke wasn't in danger of any sort of damage.

I figured the fretboard might've been super dry there, but the lemon oil did not change them. I guess the lighter grain is just inherent in the wood

Looking at my fretboards on guitars and ukes, they all show variation and striation, some more than others. That's the natural grain of the wood. So it's okay.