PDA

View Full Version : OCD about Scratches?

thekidwho
05-06-2009, 12:20 PM
Yeah so, I just got my ukulele and it's BEAUTIFUL. However its not glossed and so if i even make a little slip, I'd leave a mark. If I were to install a pickguard, which should I use? and where could i get it? and how could i put it on? lol. oh and also, what could i do in the meantime? thanks so much!

Myala509
05-06-2009, 12:27 PM
Id go to the doctor to check on your OCD! Naw man it's gonna get scratched if you play I don't think there is way out of that. I'm a newb though

russ_buss
05-06-2009, 01:07 PM
Id go to the doctor to check on your OCD! Naw man it's gonna get scratched if you play I don't think there is way out of that. I'm a newb though

i agree with this guy. the less you worry about scratches, the more fun you'll have playing your uke.

hoosierhiver
05-06-2009, 01:29 PM
Have fun, it'll eventually get a little scratchy if you play it alot. You'll want to buy a second uke in six months and you can worry about scratching up that one when you get it.

Guting
05-06-2009, 01:49 PM
what kind of uke?

Ukulele JJ
05-06-2009, 02:16 PM
Scratches add character. Just get used to the fact that your uke will get a scratch. More than one.

Heck, one day your uke will be a pile of kindling. Maybe not today, maybe not for a thousand years, but one day. Nothing lasts forever. We are just temporary caretakers of things in their current form for as long as they are in that form.

So to paraphrase the monk Achaan Cha, play your uke like it is already scratched, and enjoy it all the more for that!

- Jeff

Waterguy
05-06-2009, 02:30 PM
The only uke that doesn't get scratched is the one that doesn't get played. I pity that uke as it will never become what it was made to be. You will scratch your uke. Expect it, accept it.