Is 38mm too wide for a soprano nut?

timeconsumer

Reaction score
I’ve reached out to a couple of luthiers about a hand built soprano and I’m wondering what would be the ideal nut width. My Snail tenor is 34mm, but I’m thinking maybe I should go for 38mm for the smaller soprano scale. What do you think? I have limited experience with sopranos, is there a golden standard nut width that doesn’t feel cramped?

Get the nut width that is most comfortable to you. I've had a soprano and several tenors with a 38mm (1.5") nut width. I think the soprano was built by Mike DaSilva. You might check with Perry and Terry at Covered Bridge Ukuleles.

Cheers, the problem is that there aren’t many uke shops around where I live where I can try out a 38mm soprano. The only high end uke I’ve had the chance to try is a Martin S1, which as far as I can remember felt fine, but I’m thinking more space is better?

All instruments from Kanile'a including their sopranos have a nut width of 38" (1.5"), and this is what many people like. Especially at the shorter scale of a soprano, I tend to think that the limited vertical spacing is compensated to a certain extent by more horizontal room on the fretboard.

My two bobs worth is that it would be better to live with some off the shelf Soprano's before you go down the road of a customised Soprano. I think that you really need to be able to answer your own question for yourself first.

I know that I didn't get on with sopranos because there wasn't enough finger room, for me, this was with standard spacing, 35mm nut, 28mm over strings. ;)

The Islander Ukes have a 38mm nut, they play nicely so perhaps you’d be as well off with one of those.

Wider spaced strings on the Soprano have made a lot of difference to me, now 30mm over the Strings.

The original Martin Ukes (as copied by Ken Timms) had wider nuts than is common today ....... but it’s the resultant string spacing that makes the difference.

Last edited: