gCEA - Why the Small G?

It's to indicate that the g string is higher than the other strings in re-entrant tuning. Linear tuning, with a low G, is generally written as GCEA.

It came about because normal linear tuning used capital letters, so it needed to be different to differentiate it from the way that normal tuning was written. :)

It's to indicate that the g string is higher than the other strings in re-entrant tuning. Linear tuning, with a low G, is generally written as GCEA.

If this is true, then I've been doing it all wrong for 4 yrs now.

IIRC re-entrant tuning was first with A-D-F#-B on soprano uke, and later when other sizes came out that had longer scale length, it was lowered to GCEA to lessen the 'then-excessive' string tension on gut strings and later nylon, and as such there were no wound strings yet for ukulele...

again IIRC, later, after Baritone uke came out with DGBE like guitar, folks wanted GCEA linear tuning as well, and the went lower-case gCEA to signify that the lower-case, meant low-g as opposed to the original, normal default way of all caps of hi-G with GCEA.

:confused: :wtf:

Last edited:
Thanks! Lower case for higher sound. Makes perfect sense. :)

I know, right? Just like tuning is GCEA but going by string numbers, it would be AECG...:confused::shaka:

I know, right? Just like tuning is GCEA but going by string numbers, it would be AECG...:confused::shaka:

Back in the days of lead print and manually loading the presses, the small letters were kept lower - in the lower cases. The capitals were kept above them - in the higher cases.

Five string banjo (one of the other instruments that use re-entrant tuning) tuning is written gCGCD or gDGBD or gCGBD . . . depending on the tuning being indicated. I have just showed my three favourite banjo tunings, but there ae many more. In all of these tunings, the lower case string is the fifth string of the banjo and the re-entrant string.