SBM (Strings By Mail)

Michael70

Reaction score
Not sure how many here use this company for strings but I ordered a few sets to experiment with since I heard you go through Uke strings more so than guitar being they are nylon....???

I am new to the Uke world so I cannot testify to these things but I did see SBM were recommended.

I ordered a set of low G Aquila Reds and another highly rated low G set called Luthier Clear Super Carbon.

This seems to be a company that mainly deals in strings but has a few other accessories as well. I am sure however, most of you know this.

I use SBM often. Decent selections. Flat shipping rate. I usually receive the order within 2-3 business days. I have never tried the Luthier brand but have been wondering about it. It would be nice if you'd do a review of this brand later.

I use SBM pretty much exclusively. They have a huge selection, good prices, great service and the shipping rates to Canada are reasonable. What's not to like........the hand written note on every order thanking me for the business is a great touch.

Dave said it all.

Dave said it all
Dave buys it all. ;)

I have purchased a uke bag from SBM , I asked them to ship to my luthier in the US. It arrived in under three days during Christmas rush.
I purchased Aquila red strings in local shops and other on line stores, they all have breakage issue except SBM! They must carry the most up to date stocks.

...I heard you go through Uke strings more so than guitar being they are nylon....???.....

No, most uke strings typically last way longer, since they are usually flouro or nylon, with no metallic windings to get gunked up. I can kill a set of metallic guitar strings in a few days, or 1 gig, while my uke strings can last many many months, if I keep them and the fretboard clean.

I ordered from them a few days ago. I ordered little (1/8") side marker dots. They don't rely on an adhesive, but some kind of "magic." I haven't put them on yet. I got nine dots for $8.85.