My custom ordered Kimo Koa Tenor Ukulele - The New York Minute Koa Tenor Ukulele

Crazyguitar

Reaction score
As much as I am a newbie in the Ukulele circle, I have been a guitar player for quite a few years, hence the name "Crazyguitar" ! I have owned numerous guitars, to date I have approx. 30 guitars in my collection, ranging from Martins, Gibsons, Larivee and Lowdens to guitars from custom shops like Webber, Tippin, Woolson..+++ plus Archtop Jazz guitars and solid bodies +++:music:

I humbly confess that I have a serious case of G.A.S. ! In Jan. 2018, I was infected with U.A.S. !! I now have 2 Ponos, ATSH PC and a RSTH5 S PC. This wasn't quite enough, I need a custom built ! I needed to find a luthier that I can agree with his building concepts and within a reasonable affordability $$ level....my search started and I found Hank Johnson, "luthier extraordinary" of Kimo Ukulele in San Diego, California. Got on the phone with Hank and I asked him about his building concepts...from wood tones selection to building style, braces, neck shapes...I wanted my ukulele to be super responsive, have guitar like resonances and super playability up and down the neck. After multiple phone conversations, I decided that Hank is the luthier to build me what I wanted.

3 months to custom build my tenor ukulele...wow...I have waited close to 2 years for a custom build guitar !!

The day finally came, my custom build Kimo Koa Tenor Ukulele was a reality..just as I have asked for, a very lively and beautifully voiced instrument. Weighing in at 1 lb. 9 oz. Very comfortable neck, superb playability and masterfully build musical instrument with precision and even more important, with "real love" and "passion".

Reward yourself ! check out http://www.kimoukulele.com speak to Hank and have him build you your dream uke.

Presenting "The New York Minute Koa Tenor Ukulele" :music::

All Koa top, sides and back. (Thank you Hank for this beautiful Koa set)