Something about music in general: Leonard Bernstein "What does music mean?"

hikaru

Reaction score
Hello UU members!

Moving onto the intermediate stage of playing the ukulele, I'm starting to learn about music theory, after all, the ukulele is actually my first serious instrument! For a total beginner in music theory, lots of books are getting into technical details very quickly, and very frustrating for me to read...

But recently I've found out these Young People Concert Series from Leonard Bernstein (what an incredibly charming man!) and the New York Philharmonics.

For example, in the concert/lecture named "What does music mean?", Leonard Bernstein said:

"We don't have to know a lot of stuff about sharps and flats and chords and all that business in order to understand music; if it tell us something - not a story or a picture - but a feeling - if it makes us change inside, and have all those different good feelings music can make us have, then we are understanding it. And that's all there is to it. Because those feelings aren't like the stories and pictures we talked about before; they're not extra; they're not outside the music; they belong to the music; they're what music is about.