Can Ukes be intonated properly like guitars?

Fregly

Reaction score
I am new to Ukes and have started looking. Often when I hear recorded Ukes they sound quite off and sour in tuning. I tried a bunch at different prices in a shop recently and everyone was very off in intonation up the neck. I wonder if this is endemic as I left thinking maybe I should not bother with Ukes. Can they be intonated as well as a good guitar the entire neck? Why are the saddles not compensated? Can better strings solve it?

Can ukuleles have decent intonation? Yes they can.

Why don't they? Money.

Its all about accuracy of construction. Excellent intonation requires really accurate construction and the shorter the string length the more accurate the construction needs to be for excellent intonation.
Now the problem is that a buyer looks at a small ukulele and expects that it just HAS to be much cheaper than a guitar because its SOO much smaller.

So here is the problem. Ukuleles NEED to be constructed more accurately than a guitar for good intonation yet because they are cheaper than guitars hardly anyone does make them more accurately.

Shop around and try many. You'll get lucky eventually.

If the instrument is properly set up that should not be a problem. Some do come with compensated saddles, such as the Kiwayas. I hear videos online where the instrument is out of tune, but suspect that they need to take a little more care when tuning. You will also find plenty with great intonation.

Now of course, in the defence of ukuleles. I've heard a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT of guitars with really BAD intonation as well so longer scale length is no guarantee of accurate construction and decent intonation.

The risk factors are just higher with short scale instruments and more care is required.